Gurney's Inn
May 17, 2006

School Days

Hayground School

Hayground School proudly welcomes Tiye Giraud, vocalist/percussionist/composer, who has just started her annual residency with the students. This year Tiye's residency will be focusing on the culture and music of New Orleans. Tiye's two-week residency will culminate in a performance on May 25, at 6 p.m. Call 537-7068, for further details.

Julie Fanelli's students, ages three to seven, have just completed their "Memory Box" project, and will be presenting them to their parents at their class dinner on May 31. Students have filled their boxes with personal items and thoughts that conjure up memories and stories of their lives.

Bridgehampton School

Bridgehampton's pre-K will be traveling to the Montauk Lighthouse on Friday. Students will experience travel by train and will view New York State's oldest lighthouse.

Next Thursday, actors from The Hamptons Shakespeare Festival will conduct a workshop for grades 11 and 12. This will be an exciting workshop at which students will learn about acting, movements, improvisation, and theatrical arts. This workshop brings theater and the words of Shakespeare to life for students.

The Fourth Annual Bridgehampton School Day of Achievement will be held on June 1 beginning at 10 a.m. All students who have excelled academically and who have participated in a sport will be recognized.

Stella Maris

The students in Ms. Sliwenski's Nursery and Pre-K class at our East Hampton campus recently went on a safari to the "African Savannah." The children made traditional African Kufi hats, bead necklaces, and papier mache calabash bowls. The class sampled African foods served on placemats woven by the children. Highlights of the unit included dancing to African drum music, playing hand-made African instruments, and listening to African folktales.

All students participated in the May Crowning of Mary after the 9 a.m. mass last Wednesday.

Sagaponack School

The first through fourth graders of the Sagaponack Little Red Schoolhouse have been busy writing, including publishing books in Spanish and English. These books have been entered in the Budding Author Celebration at the Hampton Library in Bridgehampton, where the students go for library education once a month. The students have also been corresponding with pen pals in the second grade in Billings, MO in order to learn about the life in another part of the country. Lastly, they have been writing and assembling care packages for soldiers in Iraq.

The school has discovered a Little "Bigger" Red School House on the North Fork to correspond with. To celebrate their uniqueness as historic one-room schoolhouses, the students have visited and hosted the students from the New Suffolk School.

The Sagaponack School provides a fully accredited education for grades one through four and is now enrolling for the fall of 2006.

Tuckahoe School

Tuckahoe celebrates good citizenship as part of its character education program. Each month Tuckahoe teachers submit names of good citizens. "Kindness" was chosen for the month of March. We'd like to congratulate the following students who were chosen as good citizens for the month of April:

Pre-kindergarteners — Daelyn D'Agostino and Pamela Drescher. Kindergarteners — Neida Feliciano, Ashley Jayne, Jamie Morocho, Saul Ochoa, Janet Soledad and Ben Taraku. First graders — Gianna Fiorello, Mackenzy Goleski, Rachel Grindle, Samuel Manowitz and Karla Solano. Second graders — Devin D'Agostino, Julia Feist, Misty Feist, Samantha Gerzack, Olivia Jackson, Byanka Mazariegos, Aidan Roughan, William Steinbrecher, Juan Pablo Valencia and Brook-lyn Walker. Third graders — Jelani Bell, Katie Kealy, Gil Parnon, Andrew Ridgeway and Alexis Rosko. Fourth graders — Stephen Gerzack, Toni Haynia, Eryk Kropiwnicki, Serrana Mattiauda, Andrea Soto, Luciano Tortorella and Rosa Yanes. Fifth graders — Michelle Alvarez, Nathalia Gracia, Evan Gravano and Jose Reyes. Sixth graders — Gabriella Araujo, Bryan Finalborgo, Hannah Immerman, Jorge Rojas and Melissa Sadousky. Seventh graders — Jakeline Bedoya, Lillian Bennett, Zachary Bonime, James Cowell, Emily Edgar, David Garzon, Samantha Grimaldi, Gerardo Meza, Raul Meza, Melissa Morse, Kyle Olsen, Grant Parnon, Gary Pintado, Tatiana Pulla, Luis Rodriguez, Megan Ruano, and Jordan Seymore. Eighth graders — Andrew Batcheller, Jeffrey Bergenti, Jessica Cerrato, Angel Franco, Mackenzie Harrington, Tassoni Henry, Abetare Hoti, Jennifer Ortitz, Amy Lee Pacelli, Karen Sanchez and Shelby Turecamo.

In June, all "good citizens" of the year who were previously recognized will have their names in a raffle. Two lucky winners will be chosen to play "Principal" and "Assistant Principal" for the day!

Site Search

2107 Capeletti Front Tile
Gurney's Inn